Friday, March 29, 2024

Rocha Ndegwa Madzao, a 4th year Structural and Civil Engineering student is the UNSA President 2024. Rocha is the chairperson of Team Inclusivity which won with 26 out of 39 votes.

UNSA Council 2024 after being sworn in in Taifa Hall, Mar 28, 2024

The Vice-Chair is Dibora Zainab Hirbo, Secretary General, Ramesh Saxena, Treasurer, Ubah Abdi Hussein, Sports and Social welfare, Brian Amboka, PWD Representative, Miriam Cheploting, International Students representative, Lahat Mariel Apach Mador.

The University of Nairobi Students’ Association (UNSA) Leaders were sworn in, at the University’s Taifa Hall on Thursday, March 28, 2024 in an electrifying atmosphere, charged with chants and triumphant sounds cheering the teams that had won the UNSA 2024 elections. This followed the Faculty and Campus Students’ Association elections that were held virtually on Wednesday, March 27, 2024 and the Council elections that were held on Thursday morning.

Rocha delivered his acceptance speech amidst student cheers, ' Throughout this campaign, we have spoken tirelessly about the importance of inclusivity as a pillar. Our diversity has been our strength. Every voice will be heard within our community. Inclusivity is our guiding principle, it's not just be a buzzword or a campaign slogan.' He pledged to advocate for policies that include students, he pledged to lead with integrity, passion, empathy and inclusivity.' 


Speaking during the swearing-in Ceremony, the Chair of the UNSA Independent Electoral Commission, Prof. Collins Odote, announced the increase in voter turnout that was 45.7% as compared to last year, 38%. He made a special mention to Kenya Science, whose voter turnout was the highest with 78% voter turnout.

Prof. Odote reflected on the journey since 2022. The increase in participation from the students since 2022- 2024. Prof. Odote noted the challenge the commission faced was working within very tight timelines and urged management to consider appointing commissioners early enough for the next electoral cycle.

He appreciated the Commission of Administrative Justice (CAJ) and E-LOG for observing the UNSA 2024 elections.

While congratulating the teams that had won, the Vice Chancellor, Prof. Stephen Kiama, pledged to conceptualize and implement solutions together with the UNSA student leaders so that the University of Nairobi brand remains the top notch institution that transforms society.

Prof. Kiama also pledged to seek ways to increase the work-study opportunities to deliver solutions to the Industry.

The Faculty and Campus Association teams that won are: -

Faculty of Agriculture, team La Casa,

Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, Team Bernard Ojiambo

Faculty of Built Environment, Team Anchor

Faculty of Business and Management Sciences, Team Focus

Faculty of Education- Team Solo

Faculty of Engineering – Team Megga

Faculty of Health Sciences- Team Jitu

Faculty of Law- Team Parklands Jury

Faculty of Science and Technology- Team Mwaniki-MS

Faculty of Veterinary Medicine- Team Changers

Kenya Science Campus- Team Bett-Teddy

Kisumu Campus- Team Innovisionaries

Mombasa Campus – Team Ustawi

The Deputy Vice Chancellor, Academic Affairs, Prof. Leonida Kerubo and the Dean of Students, Mr. John Kinyua also spoke during the swearing in ceremony.

Watch the swearing-in ceremony here